Put an
on the Radioactive Risk

Take action and benefit from a turnkey service to find out the radon concentration in your buildings or to install a sustainable radon mitigation system.

Discover our services
Accredited
An Underrated Gas

What is Radon?

Radon is a naturally occurring radioactive gas. It emanates from the decay of uranium in the earth's crust. When radon is emitted into the outdoor air, it is diluted and does not pose a hazard to human health. However, in confined spaces such as homes, it can accumulate in concentrations dangerous to human health, greatly increasing the risk of developing serious diseases, such as lung cancer (Health Canada, 2020). The higher the level of radon, the more it poses a risk to your health and your family’s. Radon is colorless, odorless, and tasteless. It is impossible to detect it by the senses. The only way to determine the radon level in your home is to test it. Health Canada recommends that corrective measures be taken when the average annual radon concentration exceeds 200 Bq/m³ in occupied spaces of a home.

Order a Test
86 Rn Radon (222)
Radon in Figures

A silent, dangerous, and fatal threat present everywhere in Quebec

Patient avec cancer

1st

1st cause of lung cancer among non-smokers

Health Canada
Décès

16%

16 % of lung cancer deaths are caused by radon gas

Association pulmonaire du Québec
Quitting smoking

370Bq/m³

Breathing 370 Bq/m³ is the equivalent of smoking a pack of cigarettes per day

PNCR-C
Tuyau avec radon

200Bq/m³

Radon measure above which radon becomes a danger in your home

Health Canada
Maisons

20%

In Quebec, near 20% of homes have a high radon concentration requiring an intervention

Association pulmonaires du Québec, TVA nouvelles

Still not convinced of the dangers of radon, listen to the episode “Le radon : une menace trop ignorée” from the show La Facture.

A widespread gas

Where is Radon?

Uranium is a common element found across Canada at irregular and varying levels. Although some regions are known to have a greater presence of radon, it is recognized by Health Canada and the PNCR-C that radon is found everywhere in Canada, therefore potentially in any buildings in Canada. Radon concentrations will vary from building to building, even if they are similar in design and if they are nearby. Too high a concentration of radon inside your home endangers your health and that of those close to you.

Order a Test
Quebec is late

Unequal Thresholds

The major health organizations around the world are unanimous; Exposure to radon gas is dangerous to human health. Health Canada, like other organizations, set the danger threshold at 200 Bq/m3 or less. Beyond this threshold, exposure to radon considerably increases the risk of developing pathologies. In shattering contradiction to the rest of the world, the Quebec construction code (2010) sets the danger threshold at 800 Bq/m3. Do not wait before it's too late. Test and take corrective action if you have concentrations exceeding 200 Bq/m3 in accordance with the recommendations issued by Health Canada.

An invisible and odorless gas

How Does Radon get in our Homes?

Released directly from the ground into the outside air, radon dissolves quickly and poses no threat to humans. On the other hand, the atmospheric pressure inside your home is generally lower than that of the soil surrounding the foundation. The pressure difference causes different gases to be sucked inside the house, including radon. Radon can enter a building through all openings in contact with the ground: cracks in foundation walls, in floor slabs, spaces around pipes, construction joints, support studs, frame, floor drains, sumps and cavities in the walls. Although radon concentrations are potentially higher in winter because our windows are closed and sometimes even saddled, it is recommended to test from 91 days to 12 months, under normal living conditions.

1 Through the pipes 2 Through the sump 3 Through the cracks 4 Through the joint between the slab on the ground and the foundation wall 5 Through the ground
Order a Test
Alpha Track AT100

Take action

Price: $65

This dosimeter is used to measure the average radon concentration for a period of 91 days to 12 months, as recommended by Health Canada. The AccuStar Labs Long-Lasting Alpha Track AT-100 Kit has been rated # 1 by leading consumer advocacy groups. The Alpha Track AT-100 is also recommended by the Quebec Pulmonary Association. According to the EPA and Health Canada, a long-term test is the best way to determine your exposure to radon during the different seasons and living conditions in your home. Start your test now!
Order a Test
Alpha Track AT100
Test Alpha Track AT100
Maison
Our Services

Measures of radon

Radon Mitigation System

Don't wait, contact us. Don't wait, contact us. Do not wait, contact us.

Request a Quote

Faites un
sur le risque radioactif

Passez à l'action et bénéficiez d’un service clé en main pour connaître la concentration de radon de vos bâtiments ou pour installer un système d'atténuation durable du radon.

Découvrir nos services
Accrédité
Un gaz méconnu

Qu’est-ce que le radon ?

Le radon est un gaz radioactif naturel. Il émane de la désintégration de l’uranium présent dans la croûte terrestre. Lorsque le radon est émis dans l’air extérieur, il est dilué et ne représente aucun un danger. Toutefois, dans des espaces clos comme les maisons, il peut s’accumuler à des concentrations dangereuses pour la santé humaine augmentant considérablement le risque de développer des maladies graves, comme le cancer du poumon (Santé Canada, 2020). Plus le niveau de radon est élevé, plus il représente un risque pour votre santé et celle de votre famille. Le radon est incolore, inodore et sans saveur. Il est impossible de le détecter par les sens. La seule façon de déterminer la concentration de radon dans votre maison, est d’effectuer un test. Santé Canada recommande de prendre des mesures correctives lorsque la concentration moyenne annuelle de radon dépasse les 200 Bq/m³ dans les espaces occupés d’une habitation.

Commander un test
86 Rn Radon (222)
Le radon en chiffres

Une menace silencieuse, dangereuse et fatale présente partout au Québec

Patient avec cancer

1re

1ère cause du cancer du poumon chez les non-fumeurs

Santé Canada
Décès

16%

16% des décès par cancer du poumons sont causés par le radon

Association pulmonaire du Québec
Quitting smoking

370Bq/m³

Respirer 370 Bq/m³ est l'équivalent du fumer 1 paquet de cigarette par jour

PNCR-C
Tuyau avec radon

200Bq/m³

Concentration limite de radon au-dessus de laquelle, le radon devient un danger dans votre maison

Santé Canada
Maisons

1/10

Au Québec, environ 1 maison sur 10 a une forte concentration de radon nécessitant une intervention

Représentant de Santé Canada lors d’une entrevue à Radio-Canada

Toujours pas convaincu des dangers du radon, écouter l’épisode « Le radon : une menace trop ignorée » de l’émission La Facture.

Un gaz répendu

Où se situe le radon ?

L’uranium est un élément courant qui se trouve un peu partout au Canada, à des seuils irréguliers et variables. Bien que certaines régions soient reconnues pour avoir une plus grande présence de radon, il est reconnu par Santé Canada et le PNCR-C que le radon se retrouve partout sur le terrioire du Canada, donc potentiellement dans n'importe quel construction au Canada. Les concentrations de radon varieront d’un bâtiment à l'autre, même si leur conception est similaire et si elles sont à proximité. Une concentration trop élevée de radon à l’intérieur de votre maison, met en danger votre santé et celle de vos proches.

Commander un test
Le Québec en retard

Des seuils inégaux

Les grands organismes de santé à l’échelle mondiale sont unanimes ; l’exposition au gaz radon est dangereuse pour la santé humaine. Santé Canada, tout comme d’autres organismes fixent le seuil de danger à 200 Bq/m3 ou moins. Au-delà de ce seuil, l’exposition au radon augmente considérablement le risque de développer des pathologies. En contradiction fracassante au reste du monde, le code de construction du Québec (2010) fixe le seuil de danger à 800 Bq/m3. N’attendez pas qu’il soit trop tard. Testez et ayez recours à des mesures correctives si vous avez des concentrations dépassant les 200 Bq/m3 conformément aux recommandations émises par Santé Canada.

Un gaz invisible et inodore

Comment le radon s’infiltre-t-il ?

Relâché directement du sol dans l’air extérieur, le radon se dissouts rapidement et ne représente aucune menace pour l’humain. En contrepartie, la pression atmosphérique à l’intérieur de votre maison est généralement inférieure à celle du sol entourant les fondations. La différence de pression provoque la succion de différents gaz à l’intérieur de la maison, dont le radon. Le radon peut s’infiltrer dans un bâtiment par toutes les ouvertures en contact avec le sol : les fissures dans les murs de fondation, dans les dalles de planchers, les espaces autour des tuyaux, les joints de construction, les montants de support, les châssis, les siphons de sol, les puisards et les cavités dans les murs. Bien que les concentrations de radon soient potentiellement plus élevées en hiver, car nos fenêtres sont fermées et parfois même sellées, il est recommandé de tester de 91 jours à 12 mois, dans des conditions normales d’habitation.

1 Par les tuyauteries 2 Par le puisard 3 Par les fissures 4 Par le joint entre la dalle sur sol et le mur de fondation 5 Par le sol
Commander un test
Alpha Track AT100

Passez à l’action

Prix : 65 $

Ce dosimètre est utilisé pour mesurer la moyenne de concentration de radon pour une période de 91 jours à 12 mois, tel que recommandé par Santé Canada. L’ensemble Alpha Track AT-100 de longue durée de AccuStar Labs a été évalué no 1 par un important groupe de défense des consommateurs. Le Alpha Track AT-100 est également recommandé par l’Association Pulmonaire du Québec. Selon l’organisme EPA et Santé Canada, un test de longue durée est la meilleure méthode pour déterminer votre exposition au radon durant les différentes saisons et conditions d’habitation de votre maison. Commencez votre test maintenant !
Commander un test
Alpha Track AT100
Test Alpha Track AT100
Maison
Nos services

Mesure de radon

Système d’atténuation du radon

N’attendez pas, contactez-nous. N’attendez pas, contactez-nous. N’attendez pas, contactez-nous.

Demander une soumission